Word of the Day

Determined. That is the word for the day.  I am determined.

Determined to start blogging on a regular basis. Determined to keep a schedule. Determined to be interesting (that may be overreaching).

Determined to stay caught up on all the things I have to do. No. Determined to get ahead on all the things I have to do.

I’m on winter break right now, in between my first and second semester as a grad student. I’m getting my MS in Publishing. Just don’t ask what I’m going to do with it. I don’t know yet. But like the BAs in Public Relations and Journalism, I’m sure it will come in handy. So will my new-found determination to do more organization and less juggling in 2013.

On the writing front, I am determined to edit the two books that are almost ready for submission. Finish the book that isn’t, and spend a lot more time on my writing career this year, and a little less on everyone else’s. That’s kind of hard because I’m also a book editor and a video/trailer producer, but the determination is there.

I’m determined to get ahead at work. As a freelance writer, I pretty much know what my assignments are every month for the next twelve months. I am determined to work ahead so I don’t have that frantic last minute rush to find a source, interview, photo, and write a story. I am determined to make what is now the rare joy I have of meeting a deadline way in advance to be the norm.

So, as I take this first step onto this path of determination, I hope you’ll go with me to see where it goes.

About marciboudreaux

Marci Boudreaux lives with her husband, two daughters, and their numerous pets. She is a freelance writer appearing monthly in a variety of local magazines as well as a content editor for several small publishing houses. Romance is her preferred reading and writing genre because nothing feels better than falling in love with someone new and her husband doesn't like when she does that in real life. Marci is currently working on her Masters in Publishing because she still has time to sleep.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word of the Day

  1. I wish you well in achieving your goals. My WIP has floundered at a sticky bit and I definitely should set myself some deadlines otherwise I waste so much time dithering.

  2. Thanks, Susan! I don’t even want to think about my poor WIP. I have so much work to do on that and other things, sometimes it’s just easier to take a nap! 😉

Leave a Reply

